Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Water!!!

After three weeks here in our little piece of the wilderness, we have discovered water! Ha. Running water. In our sinks, in our tub. I took a warm bath the other day. Then I ran to facebook and posted that I took a warm bath because it was such a novelty.

It was a quick bath. Because, just like how we have to conserve Gigabytes and garbage gallons, we also conserve water. Water is cheap here. About $.25 for 100 gallons. That's right I said twenty five cents. And since we have a septic now, we don't pay for sewage either. BUT although we will run our rainwater into our septic system when our cabin is built, for now we are filling up a big 300 gallon water container on Bret's truck, then dumping that into our septic. That takes time. So yet another inconvenience of the country for now.

It isn't lost on me, however, that we were water guzzlers before we got here. Bret would turn the water on for his bath and walk away for it to get hot. Then come back 10 minutes later to get in. My kids would run the water in the sink the entire time they brushed their teeth. We took half hour showers.

I actually remember thinking once, 'conserve water? Why? Is it going somewhere? The same amount of water has been here since the dinosaurs. It will still be here long after I'm gone.'

Now conserve water means less trips in to town to fill the big 300 gallon container. It means pour some water into a dixie cup when you brush, and only use that amount. You don't need more. It means start the shower and GET IN RIGHT AWAY. It means drink what you pour into your cup.

Amazing how when I see my life now, on our fourth week here, we seemed so greedy before. Careless and assuming. Everything seems worth more here. We have to work for everything we get.

No comments:

Post a Comment